For candidates, no Diwali celebrations until Oct 22

Chandigarh, October 18(Dr SUKHPAL)-For the 1,221 candidates in fray for 90 seats of the Haryana Vidhan Sabha, Diwali celebrations are on hold till October 22 when the counting takes place.

Though only one in 14 of these candidates will make it to the 12th Vidhan Sabha of the state, yet all will be fingers crossed till the final count.

How many sitting legislators will make it to the next House and will the number of successful women candidates cross the unlucky number of 13 are some of the questions that await answers.

Elections to the 12th Vidhan Sabha have been unique for more reasons than one. Not only they were these held six months in advance, but also recorded the highest-ever voting percentage of 72.71 in 42 years.Another interesting aspect has been the voting pattern.

For example three of the state’s showcase cities, Gurgaon, Faridabad and Panchkula, went the Mumbai way, recording a low turnout. Mumbai saw a poor turnout despite the fact that Mumbaikers have been venting their anger after the 26/11 terrorist attack.

While 14 of the assembly segments polled more than 80 per cent votes, these three constituencies did not touch the 60 per cent mark and were the lowest in the list.

This is all the more intriguing since these are the three constituencies that have witnessed either maximum investment or the highest expenditure in infrastructure development.Thirtysix assembly segments witnessed a polling of 75 per cent or more. Only six constituencies polled less than 60 per cent, the other three being Kharkauda (57.17), Ballabgarh (59.63) and Badkhal (55.73).

Another unique feature of the 12th Vidhan Sabha elections is that it saw five major parties, national and regional, contesting on their own without alliances.

The only alliance, a minor one, was between the SAD and the INLD.

The BJP, the BSP and the HJC, the Congress and the INLD virtually contested every seat. Also, the SAD made its debut in electoral politics in Haryana by contesting Ambala City and Kallanwali seats under its own election symbol.

And when the results are declared on October 22, one of the Lals that dominated the state political scenario ever since it came into being in 1962, would be there in the House.

Last of the Lals – Bhajan Lal – is now a member of the Lok Sabha. His wife, Jasma Devi and son, Kuldip Bishnoi, have their political fortunes locked in the EVMs of the Nalwa and Adampur constituencies.

His other son, Chand Mohammad, alias Chander Mohan, could not contest with the Congress denying him the ticket.The other two Lals, Devi Lal and Bansi Lal, are no more but their progenies are in the race to make it to the 12th Vidhan Sabha.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: